Race Recap: The Mickey and Minnie Royal Family 5K!

Yep, went insta-collage crazy on this one!

Yep, definitely went insta-collage crazy on this one!

My second 5K was the Mickey and Minnie Royal Family 5K on February 23,2013; part of the Princess Half Marathon Weekend at Walt Disney World! Not only was it an amazing race, it was also a great opportunity for my first trip to WDW!

This race was probably hands down my favorite, because on top of not getting as bogged down at each kilometer mark with color throws (like I did at the Color Run), we got cute little medals, there was an expo, and we got to run through Epcot!

Because we stayed at one of the Walt Disney World resorts, we got to take advantage of the free transportation both to and from the expo and the race!

Waiting for the charter bus to take us to the Expo!

Waiting for the charter bus to take us to the Expo!

When we got inside I was awestruck at how big the building was and pumped to pick up our numbers and shirts!

Giant expo!

Giant expo – giant sign!

How cute are the bibs?!

How cute is this bib?! It even has my name on it!

IMG_4398

I figured I’d go with an XL to be safe, but it turned out to be huge!

On the other side of the registration kiosks there were all kinds of merchandise tables, selling SPIbelts (of which we each got one), running shoes, insoles, gel packs, t-shirts, official merchandise, Sweaty Bands (of which I got two), themed skirts, headphones, and more!

I was particularly into the RawThreads villain t-shirts!

I was particularly into the RawThreads villain t-shirts! I bought the Ursula one.

Luna Bars also had a stand there, where they were providing signs to decorate for the spectators on race day! I decided to make one anyway, even though I couldn’t really use it.

Run like Prince Charming is waiting at the finish line!

Run like Prince Charming is waiting at the finish line!

After the expo we went to take a pre-emptive look at Epcot so that the next day when we were running through it I wouldn’t want to stop and look at everything because it was new and exciting.

The next morning we woke up at the crack of dawn and got decked out in our new gear and our tiaras! (Which I specially bought for the event, Amazon has some awesome selections for $15!)

Ready to run!

Ready to run!

We bussed our way over to the starting gate at the Epcot parking lot, hit up the porta potties, and had just enough time to get into the right corral before they closed off the entrance. (They were counting down from 10 and we had to make a dash for it! Talk about an impromptu warm up!)

Obligatory pre-race selfie.

Obligatory pre-race selfie at the corral.

We were in the slowest corral, which kind of turned out to be a mistake, since there was a lot of bottlenecking and walking – which kind of impeded our progress.

20130411-155614.jpg

Our race route!

But, the goal was to run the minimum speed requirement – 16:00 mins/mile, and I’m happy to report that we came in at 15:50 mins/mile, even with the scenery and getting bogged down with congestion!

20130411-155703.jpg

I had a goofy smile on my face the entire time. I just couldn’t stop grinning!

Spaceship Earth in the background! Woo!

Spaceship Earth in the background! Woo!

Crossing the finish line!

Crossing the finish line!

When we got in line to take our pictures after the race, we ended up behind a woman whose shirt had kept me going throughout the race!

Seriously, how great is this shirt?

Seriously, how great is this shirt?

20130411-155710.jpg

Photo time! Posing with our medals!

After we got our medals and took our pictures, we stopped by the tent where they were handing out post-race snack boxes!

Delicious and adorable!

Delicious and adorable!

On our way out of the photography area, we passed the medal racks and I snapped this pic to give an idea of how many people finished before us.

Plus I thought it kind of looked cool.

Plus I thought it kind of looked cool.

I took another shot with my medal for posterity!

I took another shot with my medal for posterity!

If you’ve never done a Disney race before and can afford one, I can’t even begin to say how highly I recommend it! What could be better than a great run through the happiest place on Earth? I’m definitely putting one of the half marathons on my list for 2014!

Being awesome with the logo!

Who could resist a photo with the logo?

Interested in running a RunDisney race? Check out their website! (Though be warned, they sell out FAST!)

And a bonus post-race shot of me and my favorite Mickey and Friends member at the hotel pool!

Can you tell he's my favorite?

Can you tell he’s my favorite?

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: The Mickey and Minnie Royal Family 5K!

  1. Congrats on rockin’ your 5k! At some point I’m sure I’ll run a Disney race, just so I can have an excuse to wear a princess dress while running (I’m cool like that). Let me know if you ever come up to the SF area and want to run together! 🙂

    • Thanks! It was SO fun! You should definitely try one sometime! Dressing up is tons of fun, and so is checking out what everyone else is wearing! (My personal favorite that I spotted were the tutu-ed versions of Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum from Alice in Wonderland.)

      RunDisney also does these cool challenges that involve running multiple races. For example, with the 2014 Walt Disney World Marathon weekend, you can do “Goofy’s Challenge”, which entails running the marathon and the half marathon, or “Dopey’s Challenge”, which entails running every race: the marathon, half marathon, 10K, and 5K – which means that by the end of the weekend you’ve run 48.6 miles and receive 6 medals, 4 for the actual races, plus the Goofy medal, plus the Dopey medal! Yikes! (That’s of course theoretical, because the 10K and the 5K are both already sold out!)

      I’m sure I’ll end up in the SF area some time or another. If/when I do, I’ll definitely hit you up! 🙂

  2. Good job finishing strong! I wish I could afford a Disney race, you’re one more person who just raves about the wonderfulness of them! You are too cute with your Disney apparel. It looks like such a fun race + expo. Good expos always get my engine revved to go hard at race time!

Leave a Reply

