Race Recap: Peace Love Run

I ran the Peace Love Run on April 14, 2013, the day after I ran the Happy 5K. If you already saw my Race Recap for it then you know that these two races took place wedged inside of one of my best friends’s birthday weekend celebrations. The day before I ran the Peace Love Run I went to the Renaissance Faire. It was fabulous and I highly recommend it if you enjoy whimsy and costumes.

IMG_4907

A friend loaned me clothes so I could dress up!

While we were at the Ren Faire, I decided to get my hair braided, and since the 5K was 60s themed, I decided to go for some bright colored swirls!

My awesome braids!

My awesome braids!

After getting home, I immediately hopped in the car and headed down to San Diego to stay with my friend who was running the race with me. It was so awesome to get to see her again, because it’s been a while since I’ve we’ve hung out and she’s always wonderful to be around. I also got to meet her two cats, who are precious.

One of them was obsessed with my shoes!

One of them was obsessed with my shoes!

We talked for a while, but fairly soon it was time to get some sleep for the race!

The next morning she made me an AWESOME green smoothie, which was amazing!

Seriously, words canot express how much I love green smoothies.

Seriously, words canot express how much I love green smoothies.

We immediately took off for the race, and much to my displeasure it was really cold! (Although I’m sure anyone who lives somewhere where it actually gets cold would probably scoff at me over that.) It took us a while to actually find the registration table and the approved parking lot because there was very little signage and we were given an intersection rather than an address to route to. Additionally the only signs were for the Expo that we got free admission to with our registration, rather than anything being labeled as for the actual race itself. (We probably would have been fine parking in any of the other lots in the area, but I always get worried about fines or being towed, so insisted on finding the labeled one.)

The (relatively small) sandwich board labeling the parking area.

The (relatively small) sandwich board labeling the parking area once we found it.

The actual registration area was pretty low key compared to the races I’d done so far, and getting our bibs and everything went fast enough that we were able to hit up the bathrooms despite the lines. We forewent the warm up in favor of staying warm in the car for the additional half hour between when we finished and when the race began.The 10K started 10 minutes before the 5, and we used that opportunity to snap a photo of me in front of some of the festive VW Buses that were parked nearby.

Super festive!

So cool! Also, check out those legit runners behind me! Someday I’ll be more like them.

We're ready to run!

We’re ready to run!

And with that, we were off!

This was my first race where I was running with someone the entire time and we chatted. Usually I run solo. Not necessarily because I want to (though I do tend to enjoy the opportunity to zone out or be alone with my thoughts and my music depending on how I feel) but because my dad is still too injured to run with me and I’m too shy to get involved in the local run club yet. Being able to talk together was a nice way to distract myself from the actual running and definitely something I’d like to start doing in the future once I develop a bit more stamina.

My friend was nice enough to snap a shot of me with the water in the background. (Yes I am running backwards here.)

My friend was nice enough to snap a shot of me with the water in the background. (Yes I am running backwards here.)

The views along the course were pretty awesome, and thank goodness we were running because the weather stayed pretty chilly the entire time.

Some really cool views and a giant ship!

Some really cool views and a giant ship!

Because it was the inaugural race most of the signs and things were fairly simple, but I liked them nonetheless.

2 Mile point!

2 Mile point!

At one point we passed some Naval artillery guns, and a few people posed with them and I thought it was interesting to see the old-fashioned guns and people dressed as hippies posing together.

IMG_4937

Just seemed to fit the theme well to me.

After the race ended, we got a few pictures taken with our cool VW Bus medals!

Woo! We finished!

Woo! We finished!

Peace!

Peace!

Afterwards we went out for celebratory breakfast rather than the expo, because I had a limited amount of time and we wanted to catch up a little. I treated myself to waffles! I haven’t had them in a long time, and they were so good! (Especially since I didn’t eat much the day before – corsets don’t leave a lot of room in your stomach for food to actually go.)

Of course, I was only able to eat about 1.5 waffles and the fruit.

Of course, I was only able to eat about 1.5 waffles and the fruit.

What a blast! Theme/costume runs are my favorite, and this one was no exception!

Plus, seriously, how cool is this medal?

Plus, seriously, how cool is this medal?

Interested in learning more about the Peace Love Run? Check out their website!

One thought on “Race Recap: Peace Love Run

Leave a Reply

